Last week I needed a break from getting ready for Quilt Market, so I took My Girl to our LQS to pick up a new marking pen for a customer project. My Girl is four and three quarters (just ask her) and she is totally, undeniably, addicted to fabric. Together we are usually in crazy trouble in a fabric store.

I consider it a victory that I came out of the fabric store with only one purchase – the marking pen I went in for.

Sewline pink mechanical chalk pencil

Sewline pink mechanical chalk pencil

We picked up a Sewline pink mechanical chalk pencil to mark a quilt with a variation of Americana colors. It worked pretty well. I’d use it again and recommend it to others. My Girl is also the luckiest girlie around. If something can be won, she’ll win it. Our fabulous LQS, Lone Star Quiltworks, was celebrating it’s ninth anniversary last week and had various prizes/gifts for the winning. Unsurprisingly, My Girl won them all and came home with a nice bit of loot for her budding stash. 20140430-160902.jpg One of the great things about my LQS is its location. It’s two doors down from our natural foods store, and My Girl insisted we stop in for a healthy afternoon snack. You don’t have to ask me twice! Trouble was, we passed my favorite kid’s educational book store on the way… No harm in stopping in just to see if they had a new maze book for My Boy, who’s seven and blowing through maze books faster than I can supply them.20140430-104725.jpg Oops. I kind of overshadowed my victory at the quilt store with the purchase of ten new books for the kids. But hey, we spent 16 hours in the car last weekend going back and forth to the grandparents farm, and those books came in handy! 20140430-105356.jpg I’ll avoid getting started on the details of our trip… And the fabric stash we met in Granny’s sewing room… That’s a post for another day. Piece out!